Let’s talk about Anxiety

What is anxiety?

Anxiety is a mental health disorder. It’s a natural response of your body to stress that affects daily activities. It’s normal to feel anxious but when anxiety escalates and interferes with your daily activities, you may be suffering from an anxiety disorder and it needs to be treated as soon as possible.

Types of anxiety disorders.

Panic disorder
Panic disorders result in panic attacks due to sudden, recurring and intense feeling of fear. They’re accompanied by physical symptoms like chest pain, accelerated heartbeat, body shivers, heat waves etc.

Social anxiety disorder
Social anxiety disorder or social phobia is characterized by the fear of feeling embarrassed, criticized or excessive self-consciousness while socializing.

Obsessive-compulsive disorder
OCD is characterized by repetitive or recurrent behaviour like washing, cleaning, dusting, counting or checking. It involves repetitive behaviours to avoid feelings of anxiety.

Post-traumatic stress disorder
PTSD develops after a person is exposed to some terrifying or threatening event in which their life was threatened or they were hurt. it can be triggered due to assaults, murder, natural or man-made disasters or accidents.

Generalised anxiety disorder
It is characterised by excessive worry, exaggerated tension and chronic anxiety and is directly related to overthinking about little things that may or may not affect you.

Symptoms of anxiety.

Physical symptoms
•Shortness of breath
•Accelerated heartbeat
•Sweating
•Heatwaves
•Stomach issues
•Dizziness
•Body pain
•Shaking or trembling

Mental symptoms
•Overthinking
•Feeling of fear
•Difficulty concentrating
•Racing thoughts

How to relieve anxiety?

Anxiety disorders may not stay with you life long if treated correctly. It can be managed and dealt with.

•Take proper medications
•Go for therapy sessions
•Don’t let your fear dominate you
•Go for Psychotherapy
•Get better sleep
•Eat right and exercise
•Try meditation and breathing exercises
•Socialize with people

Published by Shivani Gupta

Feeling. Writing. Healing.🌸❤

39 thoughts on “Let’s talk about Anxiety

  1. I see a lot of high student anxiety because of poor daily scheduling and an inability to divide tasks and manage time effectively. Fortunately my piano students learn this as a part of practise techniques. I feel this needs to be a part of the school syllabus now, especially given that students are locked in and studying online.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. This is a great read.

    This part here points out 4 things people can start immediately (before they find proper therapist and psychopharmacologist)

    Get better sleep
    •Eat right and exercise
    •Try meditation and breathing exercises
    •Socialize with people

    Really great advice you shared 👍🙏😊🙋☀️

    Like

  3. Remember, In the childhood our parents stops us to not run everywhere and sit silently. At that time I was not lazy.

    When I went to navodaya school and our teachers ordered us to complete a lot of homework and assignments, I lost control over health.

    I stopped enjoying my life. All the time talking about studies and exams. One point is that I was little slower than the rest of class. I was learning english slowly, I was too bad at grammer and sentences.

    So my anxiety is a result of continuously 7 year practice of the things, I mentioned above. Some points I missed or I was not serious at that time ;

    1. Settings a goal and priority
    2. Time Management
    3. Not doing enough hard work (smart work)

    4. Believed on unworthy people (Give me the chance to learn the things in which I don’t know. Help me to learn that instead of saying bad words)

    5. I haven’t tried

    Well, I have decided to work on my weaknesses to live a happy – peaceful life. (Adventures excites me.)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Please, Please, Please like, comment, share and subscribe my new YouTube channel ThinkBigNepal. Click here: https://youtu.be/v-ehahEWSW0. Hurray, You subscribed and shared my channel. Thank you.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started