An open letter to my Lost Love

Dear Lost Love,

It’s been long since we parted ways but I still feel your absence every day. Loving you wasn’t easy but it is so much harder to let you go. I don’t know how to cope up with the pain of losing you. I still don’t know how to heal my invisible wounds and fix my broken heart again. Sometimes I feel hurt or lonely or uneasy or broke. But mostly I feel a little of all these. I never thought I’d ever fall in love with someone so deeply and dedicatedly. You always meant so much to me. Now I miss every little thing of yours. I miss your smile, your laugh, your eyes, your hugs, your kisses, your touch and so much more. From our first date to our last kiss, I miss every moment we spent together. I miss you missing me, teasing me, making me blush and telling me how much you love me.

Remember, how you used to say that I completely fit in you when you hugged me? Yes, we did fit perfectly in each other. We were like two pieces of a jigsaw puzzle who completed each other. Without one piece, the puzzle is always incomplete just the way we’re incomplete without each other. Your arms were my place to rest. They were my home. I used to forget all my pains and worries when you hugged me. But now I wander in search of a place to soothe my soul. I’m still not able to accept the fact that I won’t be able to go back to your arms to relieve myself every time I get entangled in my own thoughts. I spend my nights looking at your pictures, listening to our call recordings or remembering every moment spent with you. I’ve not slept peacefully in months. I miss our night calls and still wait for your call every night so that we could fall asleep together. I wait for you to kiss me and sing me to sleep. Every night I still dream of you and wait for those dreams to come true every day.

There are times when I cry making myself sick but there are also times when I couldn’t cry missing you. My heart aches for your love and my mind is never at peace. There’s an empty space in my heart now that won’t ever get filled by anyone because that’s your place. You’ll always stay there. I’ll never be able to replace you. I don’t care what others think about you, for me you’ll always stay the best. There’s no one like you. No one will ever love me the way you did someday. Maybe you don’t love me the same way now but I know that somewhere you still feel for me and that feeling won’t ever end no matter how hard you try.

Love, you were a gift to me who brought together my scattered life. You sorted my complicated life and I tried my best to make your life beautiful. Your love was all I needed. It kills me now to even think about my future without you. I might’ve never been the perfect girlfriend but no one will ever love you the way I do.

And right now, as tears roll down my cheeks, I write this letter to you. Love, I know you’re suffering too and I want it to end as soon as possible. I crave for your presence in my life more than anything else. We weren’t supposed to end like this. I don’t know if it’s ever possible again, but all I wish for is a miracle to happen so that everything gets sorted and you find your way back to me.

With love,
Shivani

P.S. – images are taken from Google images.

Published by Shivani Gupta

Feeling. Writing. Healing.🌸❤

58 thoughts on “An open letter to my Lost Love

  1. Deep. In there lies the conundrum with Love. You wanted to get sucked in, more and more. Aside from death, it’s the only certainty in life where you know the deeper you climb in, the more pain you may endure. Our beautiful flaw gets the better of us.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Having gone through the same, I can very well understand you plight, Shivani. I second your thoughts and feelings and strong believe that even after parting ways a part of the person you love stays with you, forever. I hope and wish the miracle do happen in your life. It’s painful, I have felt it and still do. Fingers crossed for you. Keep smiling always. Stay strong dear! PS- you expressed it so well. Kudos.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was how I felt last year when my engagement was broken. Maybe my ex will always have a place in my heart, but I sure am working hard to move forward. I hope your heart heals one day, and may you find peace and love once more. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started